My Visit to Salzburg

By Theresa Hubbell

The Hills Are Alive With the Sound of Adventure!

Well, today I went to Salzburg, Austria to visit some long-lost friends of my Dad’s, the Damischs. Suffice to say, it was an unforgettable experience. I took an early train so I got there by 10 AM, and was so excited to see the Alps! Finally, something that isn’t flat! Plus, it has always been an ambition of mine to see that particular range. After exiting the train and getting maps for the city (because I was a little cavalier about the whole thing and hadn’t gotten them prior), I then bought my hosts fresh flowers, as is customary when going for a visit here. Of course, I then got lost, took the bus going the wrong direction, and ended up almost going out of town, but I eventually was just picked up and it all worked out.
I ate so much food! Veal, soup, potatoes, tomatoes, and dessert. Lots of dessert. As someone who is watching her blood sugar, I probably shouldn’t have taken those, but they were famous Viennese delicacies (like Linzer Torte, Poppyseed cake, and Mozartkugel) and had been made just for me, so it would have been wrong to decline them, right? Right! To work all of that off, I spent two or more hours with a cab driver friend of their’s named Barbara who took me on a private tour of the town–particularly hitting Sound of Music stops and sites of historical importance. The town is relatively small, like Traverse City, MI (close to where I live), so I felt very at home. And despite the grand architecture, the city was very much a part of the landscape. That, to me, was the most beautiful part of it. To see people living so harmoniously with nature.
I also got to tour downtown with my hosts, including the famous shopping street, Getreidegasse. My favorite shops were the local specialty stores that sold lederhosen, hand-woven rugs, and hand-decorated ornamental eggs.
Although this was technically the day before my birthday, I must say I celebrated turning 22 in style. Most people don’t make a big deal out of it, but I got to spend mine traveling the world.
Ciao!

Leave a comment